Serving People

Peter Mau

“19 I hope in the Lord Jesus to send Timothy to you soon, that I also may be cheered when I receive news about you. 20 I have no one else like him, who will show genuine concern for your welfare. … 22 But you know that Timothy has proved himself, because as a son with his father he has served with me in the work of the gospel…25 But I think it is necessary to send back to you Epaphroditus, my brother, co-worker and fellow soldier, who is also your messenger, whom you sent to take care of my needs.    26 For he longs for all of you and is distressed because you heard he was ill. … 28 Therefore I am all the more eager to send him, so that when you see him again you may be glad and I may have less anxiety. 29 So then, welcome him in the Lord with  great joy, and honor people like him….” (Philippians 2:19-30)

Miao.png

2003 family photo

Paul wholeheartedly served and faithfully devoted his life to ministry - in evangelism, apologetic, church building or more. The passage above gives us an insight into the essence of his ministry.

 

In this passage, he mentioned two of his co-workers: one was Timothy who was discipled by Paul, and the other was Epaphroditus who was sent to Rome by the Philippian church to take care of Paul’s needs. Although Paul was in prison, he showed great concern about his partner in the work of the gospel - the Philippian Church. He eagerly wanted to have news about them and to know their circumstances.

 

Timothy has served as the connecting bridge between them. Timothy's stay with Paul was a source of comfort for Paul's body and soul, which was very important for him. However, Paul was willing to let go of his personal needs out for his care and love for the Philippian church.

 

At the same time, he cared about Epaphroditus who just recovered from a serious illness and was homesick. To alleviate the distress of the brothers and sisters in Philippi, Paul was willing to forsake his own interests and did what would be beneficial to his co-workers and partners at Philippi. Therefore he sent Epaphroditus back to Philippi, demonstrating his sacrificial love and service, prioritizing the needs of others over himself. This action transformed the blessing he would receive personally from Epaphroditus to become a blessing and comfort for others.

 

Timothy worked with Paul for many years and experienced much of God's grace and providence. He acquired a lot of spiritual wisdom and ministry knowledge under Paul’s guidance. However, in Paul's heart, this was not what he was most proud of. What he treasured most was the spiritual relationship between him and Timothy in the Lord - the father-son relationship that they had. Imagine the evolution of the relationship from that of co-worker and apprentice to that of father and son. What had they experienced to trigger such change? Wasn't that selfless love and care, as well as unconditional dedication to each other?

In Paul's mind, Epaphroditus was not just a temporary caretaker sent to look after him, but a servant sent by God. He cherished him, respected him, treated him like a brother, and invited him to join as a member of their ministry. Although he was in a foreign land, he could feel at home without the restraints and feelings of being an outsider.

 

Paul's mission was not limited to ministry work. He wanted to learn about the spiritual conditions of the Philippian church from Timothy’s visit, to care about their lives, expecting them to be blameless children of God, and showing God’s truth through their lives. The brothers and sisters in Philippi were Paul's co-workers: united in heart & soul to prosper the gospel, experiencing God’s blessing and grace together, and also endured suffering together. They were all partners in the Lord, serving the Lord together. Paul wanted to serve them in this regard.

 

Paul’s ministry was not only limited to the work itself, people were also an important focus. Through the way he mentioned Euodia and Syntyche to the Philippian church; also Paul’s plea for Onesimus in the book of Philemon, one can realize the importance of brothers and sisters in his ministry and in his mind.

 

Miao1.png

2020 family photo

Serving people is not inferior to doing ministry work. How successful would ministry like evangelism be if there are no brothers and sisters who love the Lord faithfully, stand firm in truth, and live that out in their lives? Nowadays, many jobs or activities can be computerized or automated, but can they replace our ministry? I hope that while we value the ministry itself,  we don’t lose sight of the even more important element of service to our brothers and sisters.This emphasis will create a strong foundation for our ministry.

Pastor Peter Mau

Senior Pastor during 1996-2012

Written on Oct 17,2020 for RCMBC 30th anniversary

Translated by Siong Ng

人  的  事 奉

繆詠堂

「19我靠主耶穌指望快打發提摩太去見你們,叫我知道你們的事,心裡就得著安慰。20因為我沒有別人與我同心,實在掛念你們的事。… 22但你們知道提摩太的明證;他興旺福音,與我同勞,待我像兒子待父親一樣。… 25然而,我想必須打發以巴弗提到你們那裡去。他是我的兄弟,與我一同做工,一同當兵,是你們所差遣的,也是供給我需用的。26他很想念你們眾人,並且極    其難過,因為你們聽見他病了。… 28所以我越發急速打發他去,叫你們再見他,就可以喜樂,我也可以少些憂愁。29故此,你    們要在主裡歡歡樂樂地接待他,而且要尊重這樣的人;…」

(腓立比書2:19-30

2003年全家福

保羅在傳福音、辨道、造就教會等各方面的事奉,都是竭盡所能盡心盡力,忠心奉獻上他的一生, 從這段經文中,讓我們領會他事奉的精要。

這裏他提到他的兩位同工:一位是他一手栽培的同工提摩太,另一位新同工就是那位奉腓立比教會差派到羅馬服事他的以巴弗提。保羅雖然身繫牢獄,卻心繫他的福音伙伴 – 腓立比教會。他慇切想與他們互通消息, 知道他們的境況。

提摩太就是他們彼忘相顧的橋樑。其實,提摩太留在保羅身邊, 是保羅身體與心靈得安慰的泉源,對他來說,這是很重要的。然而保羅為了愛心的關懷,樂意放下自己的需要。

另一方面,他關心大病剛癒,心中想家的以巴弗提,同時也希望腓立比的弟兄姊妹安心,因而願意捨棄自己的利益, 使他的同工和伙伴們得著好處。他打發以巴弗提回腓立比,這也是他愛心的犠牲和服事,少顧自己, 以別人的好處為先,使本來祝福他的以巴弗提成了別人的祝福和安慰。

提摩太跟保羅一起奔走事奉有年, 經歷了不少神大能的恩典和奇妙的安排,他也從保羅身上學了不少屬靈的智慧和事奉的學問。然而,在保羅心中,這都不是他最引以為傲的,他寶貴的是他和提摩太之間在主裏的屬靈關係 – 待我像兒子待父親一樣。試想從這同工師徒的關係轉化為父親兒子的關係,他們在其中經歷了甚麼?豈不是無私的大愛和關心與無條件的付出?

在保羅的心目中,以巴弗提不只是一個代表關心他的過客, 乃是神差來的僕人,他珍惜他,尊重他, 待他如兄弟,邀請他加盟成爲他們事奉的一份子,令他雖身居異鄉,卻能賓至如歸,沒有局外人的拘束和感覺。

保羅的事奉,不限於事工,他想從提摩太的訪問中,了解腓立比教會的屬靈景況,關心他們的生活表現,期望他們無可指責,作神的兒女,將生命之道表明出來。腓立比的弟兄姊妹是保羅的同工:同心合意興旺福音,一同得恩,一同受苦。他們同是在主裏的伙伴,一起攜手並肩,保羅要在這方面服事他們。

綜觀保羅的事奉,除事工方面的事奉, 還有人方面的事奉,人也是保羅事奉的關注點,試看他向腓立比教會提及友阿爹和循都基二人,再看腓利門書中的阿尼西母,便知道弟兄姊妹在他事奉和他心目中的重要。

2020年全家福

人的事奉對比事工的事奉,一點也不遜色,沒有忠心愛主並在真道上站立得穩, 又能將生命之道表明出來的弟兄姊妹,傳福音等各項事工真能馬到功成嗎?現今,很多工作或活動可以電腦化或機械化,它們能替代我們的事奉嗎?但願我們在重視事工事奉的同時,更看重對弟兄姊妹的事奉,造就一個良好的事工事奉基礎。

繆詠堂傳道

1996-2012年為真理堂主任牧師

本文寫於真理堂三十周年慶

2020.10.17

關於我們

教會事工

講道重溫

屬靈資源

奉獻

與我們聯繫

電話:(604)275-1893

電郵:office.rcmbc@gmail.com

地址:10200 No. 5 Road, Richmond

©2021 by RCMBC. Proudly created with Wix.com