We are just

Paulfam-1990.png

leave temporarily

Chen Mingbin

Summer goes and autumn comes, and the seasons change alternately, which makes me feel sad; the blue sky becomes gloomy, and the rain falls round and round, reminding us that this is the "wet coast" (the wet and rainy West Bank); in this season of gratitude, I cherish the memory of my years in the Truth Church, and I am full of thanks to God!

Family portrait in 1990

In 1990, exactly 30 years ago, Pastor Chen Zhongdao invited me to attend the first Sunday worship service at the Truth Church. So our family started every Sunday, from Abbotsford to the Truth Church, every one way. It is 71 kilometers long. It is not an easy decision for us to bring our 14-year-old son and 10-year-old daughter, but we deeply feel God’s leadership and are willing to work with the pastor and a group of brothers and sisters who commit ourselves. Come and stick to the truth of the gospel.


It turned out that I got far more than I wanted and asked for. On June 2, 1991, I was worshiping in the former Fireside Room. I heard God's call to serve Him full time. Yes, God can call me on other occasions, but He chose to be in this place, which is of special significance to me, because in the 10 years before I was called, I have been studying Pastor Chen’s teachings and made me what I am today. The pastors of the People's Republic of China focus on studying the scriptures, rigorously preparing sermons, and preaching the word of God uncompromisingly.


Under the miraculous leadership, I went to another church to start the theological internship. After that, God prepared an opportunity for me to serve in a Western church. Later, He led me south to serve at the CITIC Center in the United States. At that time, I didn't understand what God was doing, and even my departure made Pastor Chen uneasy.

But through the service of the Western Church and the experience of participating in missionary work, God drove me out of my comfort zone.

Successfully compiled a "holistic growth" and a 5-year devotional plan to help believers get close to God in prayer and Bible reading.

I feel honored to have returned to the Church of Truth after 24 years of parting and serve under this special situation.

Although the body is still sick and unwell; as the apostle Paul told Philemon about Onesimus leaving him,

"He left you temporarily, or told you to have him forever, ... now it is good for you and me."
(Philemon 15)


Although I will retire at the end of the year, I often pray for the Truth Church and continue to support "whole person growth" for the church.

The ministry is grateful. May God use the Church of Truth to become a golden lampstand, to shine and shine in this dark age,

Waiting for the return of the Lord Jesus Christ.

(Translated by Liang Chen Ruiyou)

Paulfam-2020.png

Pastor Mingbin Chen

In 1990, he was one of the first members of the Church of Truth

2016-2019 Senior Pastor of the Church of Truth

This article was written at the 30th anniversary of the Church of Truth

2020.10.11

2020 family portrait

我們只不過是

Paulfam-1990.png

暫時離開

陳明斌

夏去秋來,季節交替轉換,頗感淒意綿綿;藍藍的天變得灰暗了,雨水迂迴灑落,提醒我們這就是「wet coast」(潮濕多雨的西岸);在這感恩的季節裡,我緬懷在真理堂多年的點滴,滿心感謝神不已!

1990年全家福

1990 年,剛好是30 年前,陳終道牧師邀請我參加真理堂第一次的主日祟拜,於是我們一家開始每個主日, 從亞博斯福來到真理堂,每次單程路長71 公哩,我們擕同14 歲的兒子和年僅10 歲的幼女,這是個不容易的決定,但我們深深感受到神的帶領,願意與牧者及一班同心委身的弟兄姊妹,來堅守福音真道。


原來,我所得著的遠超過我所想所求。1991 年6 月2 日,當時在從前的 Fireside Room 崇拜,我聽見神的呼召,要我全職事奉祂。不錯,神大可以在別的場合呼召我,但祂卻選擇在這地方,對我特具意義,因為在蒙召之前的10 年裏,我一直學習陳牧師的教導,陶造我成為今天的牧者,著重研經、嚴謹預備講章、並宣講神的話堅定不妥協。


在神奇妙的帶領下,我到另一所教會開始神學實習,之後,神為我預備在一所西人教會事奉的機會;往後祂又領我南下,在美國中信中心服侍。當時我不明白神的作為,甚至我的離開令陳牧師心裏不安。

但神藉著西人教會的事奉,並參與宣教事工的經驗,驅使我走出自己的安舒區,

成功編制「全人成長」及5 年靈修計劃,幫助信徒在禱告讀經親近神。

我甚覺榮幸,離別了24 年之久,竟然重返真理堂,在這個特殊情況下事奉,

雖然身體仍有毛病不適;正如使徒保羅告訴腓利門,關於阿尼西母離他而去,

「他暫時離開你,或者是叫你永遠得著他, … 如今與你我都有益處 。」
(腓利門書15)


雖然年屆退休,我常常為真理堂禱告,也為教會不斷支持「全人成長」

事工感恩。願神使用真理堂成為金燈臺,在這個黑暗世代發亮發光,

等候主耶穌基督的再來。

(梁陳瑞優譯)

Paulfam-2020.png

陳明斌牧師

1990 年為真理堂第一批會友中一員

2016-2019 年為真理堂主任牧師

本文寫於真理堂三十周年慶

2020.10.11

2020年全家福