Make Faith Your Legacy

Valerie Yiu

Written on 2020.12.31

Rao3.png

1994

I rejoice with you in the celebration of thirty years of the Lord’s goodness and blessings to you as a church, and am thankful for your steady growth in numbers and in spiritual maturity. I am grateful that I have been privileged to have a small part in your history. Indeed RCMB Church had been my training ground as I continue to serve Him!

As I reflect upon God’s grace over RCMB Church, I cannot help but thanking the Lord for granting me such a precious opportunity to serve under the leadership of the Rev. Stephen Chan and Pastor Phebe Chan. They both have set a good example as humble servants, and had taught all of us to be faithful.  And of course I would not forget the joy in serving together with all my dear brothers and sisters!

As I began to count the many blessings for RCMB Church, three important components impressed deeply into my heart:

1. Upholding  the Truth

Just like the Chinese name for the Church, 真理 RCMB continues to uphold the Truth as the priority. As the Apostle Paul’s first letter to young Timothy, instructing Timothy and others “… how people ought to conduct themselves in God’s household, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and foundation of the truth.” (1 Timothy 3:15), RCMB church faithfully obeys Scripture, the Word is being preached in season and out of season, and the Truth of the gospel has reached and shared with the community. Many have come to receive this precious gift of eternal life, what a blessing!

 

2. Earnestly in Prayer

RCMB continues to be a house of prayer, where God’s people sit at the feet of Jesus to intercede for the world, the church and the needy. My recollection of seeing a beautiful picture where groups of brothers and sisters praying earnestly in the fireside room; prayers connect us with Him. Prayers usher us into His presence. With God’s presence, we see God’s power transform us and encourage us to be the salt and light of this world.

 “Continue earnestly in prayer, being vigilant in it with thanksgiving (Colossians 4:2).

D.L. Moody once said, “Every great move of God can be traced to a kneeling figure”; and “Little is much when God is in it.” It’s encouraging to know that when we pray, God can take our little and make much of it. What a blessing!   

 

3. Passing the baton of faith to the next generation

I still remember at the early stage of RCMB, Rev. Chan shared about his vision on passing the baton of faith to the next generation.  He desired to share the faith with the young students who were studying at the Christian School (who were using the same building); he cared about the spiritual nurturing for the young Canadian born Chinese; he envisioned the ministry to the English-speaking next generation.

Leading teenagers and children to follow Jesus is not only a biblical call, but it is also an incredible privilege and responsibility. Just as Asaph in Psalm 78 writes, …“to tell the coming generation the glorious deeds of the LORD, and his might and the wonders that he has done.” (v.4) so that “they should set their hope in God, ”(v.7)  we can create opportunities for older believers to teach the next generation about the Lord and His Gospel so that they too might find their hope in Jesus Christ. Make Faith as RCMB’s legacy. What a blessing!

May our Lord Jesus Christ continue to bless you abundantly, as you uphold His Words, pray earnestly and entrust you, as a church, to pass the baton of faith from one generation to the next. Congratulations!

rao2.png

2020

Pastor Valerie Yiu

Part time EM pastor 1993.09 - 1994.12

Now serving as Mission and Children Ministry Director

under Asian and Multicultural Ministries in Canada

真理的傳承

饒少莉

rao1.jpg

1994

當我們一同慶祝主賜福真理堂三十週年之際,我實在為教會在人數和屬靈生命上穩步的增長而感恩;並且感謝神在真理堂三十年的歷史中讓我有幸曾經參與其中。然而,真理堂確實也是栽培我走這事奉路的沃土。 

當我思想神對真理堂的恩典時,我禁不住感謝衪給我預備這個寶貴的機會,在陳終道牧師和陳甦靈傳道的帶領下學習事奉。他們為如何作神的好僕人樹立了謙卑的榜樣,並且教導我們要忠心事主。還有我豈能忘記那群充滿喜樂、同心事奉的親愛的弟兄姐妹!
 

當我開始數算真理堂眾多的恩典時,其中三個重要元素深深地打動了我:

一、持守真理
就像教會的名稱一樣,真理堂秉承真理為優先。使徒保羅給年輕提摩太的第一封信,指示提摩太和其他人 “…… 你也可以知道在神的家中當怎樣行;這家就是永生神的教會、真理的柱石和根基。”(提摩太前書3:15)教會完全順服聖經的教導,無論得時不得時,務要傳道,在社區分享福音的信息。帶領多人歸主,這是蒙恩的見証!

二、恆切禱告
真理堂是禱告的殿堂!神的子民坐在主耶穌的腳下, 為世界、教會和有需要的人代禱。回憶中,彷彿看到那幅弟兄姐妹們在壁爐房裡懇切禱告的美麗圖畫。禱告使我們與神繫連妙結;透過禱告神引領我們與衪同在。神的同在,使我們看見祂的大能, 鼓勵我們成為這個世界的鹽和光。

“你們要恆切禱告,在此警醒感恩”(歌羅西書4:2)。

大佈道家慕迪先生曾說:“神一切的作為都是源於膝蓋的禱告”;“只要讓神參與其中,無論如何微小的力量,都能成就大事!” 令人鼓舞的就是當我們禱告時,神就在卑微的我們身上成就大事。這是蒙恩的見証!

三、真理傳承下代
猶記得早期的真理堂,陳終道牧師分享到他對信仰傳承下代的異象。他盼望能與當時在基督教中學上課的一班年輕人分享福音信仰(因我們使用同一棟建築物)。他亦特别關心在加拿大土生土長的下一代,他們在屬靈生命的需要和餵養;他計劃成立英文事工去牧養我們的下一代。
 

帶領青少年和兒童去跟隨耶穌不僅是聖經的呼召,也是我們必要承擔的責任。就如亞薩在詩篇78中所記述的 :“我們不將這些事向他們的子孫隱瞞。要將耶和華的美德和他的能力、並他奇妙的作為、述说說給後代聽。” (78:4),“好叫他們仰望神、不忘記神的作為。”(78:7) 這樣我們就能為年長的信徒創造機會,向下一代傳遞有關神的信息和福音,讓他們有機會在耶穌基督裡找到盼望,在神的帶領下成長。這是蒙恩的見証!

願神繼續幫助你們持守真理、恒切禱告、努力把真理傳承下代 。特别在這三十週年紀念中,願我們主耶穌基督與你們同在,賜福與你們!

rao2.png

2020

饒少莉傳道於1993年9月至1994年12月為本堂部份時間英文事工主任

現任聖公會亞裔及多元文化兒童事工主任(本文寫於2020.12.31)